Commercial Headlines
News 14 November 2014
A night of celebration for students in Ryerson's graphics program
Students, parents and faculty gathered at the Heidelberg Centre on Nov. 13, to recognize the best Ryerson’s School of Graphic Communications Management (GCM) program has offer.

Instructor Diana Brown (left) with recipients of the Francesco Giorgio Memorial Award

The annual awards night was hosted by students Valerie Drozdowsky and Christopher Ambedkar and announced by Professor Gillian Mothersill. Ron Schroder, trustee for the Canadian Printing Industries Scholarship Trust Fund (CPISTF) was on hand to distribute $1,250 to 33 students (announced in September) who managed to enter the program with an 80% or higher high school average and completed an interview with a print industry leader. The scholarship can be renewed annually for four years if a 3.00 GPA is maintained.

Of the many awards presented, Samantha Tully accepted The Warren Wilkins Prestige Scholarship (also announced in September), valued at $5,000; Christina MacCallum accepted the C.J. Graphics Award, valued at $1,000 and the Narinder & Deepa Lal award, valued at $7,500 went to Kyle Kung. PAC Awards of Excellence were presented to Darren Brandt, Daniel Langsford and Julia Tincombe.

Professor Martin Habekost (left) with College & University Print Management Association of Canada Award winner Darren Brandt

Ian Baitz GCM Chair, ended the night by reminding students about the job fair taking place in early March for both enrolled and graduating students, and left the audience with some good tidings, “The future remains very good for graduates.”

Additionally, the following awards were handed out:
  • Schawk Canada Inc. Most Improved Award: Natalie Copeland
  • George Hurley Memorial Award: Christopher Ambedkar
  • Best Bound Book Award: Jennifer Huynh
  • Francesco Giorgio Memorial Award: Rhonda Atkinson, Natalia Bagan, Lauren Gatti, Tabea Lemcke and Matthew Miller
  • Xplor Central Chapter Scholarship: Natalia Bagan
  • College & University Print Management Association of Canada: Darren Brandt
  • Hans Müller Sr. Award of Excellence in Graphic Arts Finishing: Diondra Filicetti
  • The Manroland Canada Inc. Accounting Award: Diondra Filicetti
  • Mary Black Leadership Award: Mark Brejnik and Brian Hui
  • Gary Hanna Graphic Communications Award: Jessica Klein
  • Chia Tse Award presented by the Toronto Craftsmen Club: Melissa Binsted
  • Dennis Mock Student Leadership Award: Brian Hui and Karley Wu
  • Electronic Document Systems Foundation Scholorship Award: Christopher Ambedkar
  • Foundation of Flexographic Technical Association Scholarship: Elina Shafigullina and Daniel Langsford
  • The William Somerville Memorial Award for Excellence: Melissa Binsted
  • Jeff Watson Memorial Award: Tabea Lemcke
  • The Clifford Hawes Memorial Scholarship Award : Krista Brown
  • R.B. Tom Atkins Scholarship: Jules Downey-Ging
  • GK Teamwear Award: Daniel Langsford
  • GCM Student Representative Award: Brian Hui

New Products
Special Feature
The Gold List